DEV: your preferred partner

Economic Development – Canton of Vaud (DEV) plays a central role for foreign businesses. It is active in providing support for establishing companies in the broadest sense of the term.

Its role consists in providing entrepreneurs with guidance, free of charge, in all the steps they will have to undertake to set up business in Vaud and in their contact with administrative bodies. DEV offers foreign businesses its experience, expertise, and knowledge of the region and of the local economic context.

Set up guide

DEV’s services include: :

  • Supporting foreign companies in the evaluation of the canton of Vaud as a site for setting up business.
     
  • Guiding entrepreneurs in their choices when the time comes to define the best legal form of company to create. This service is wholly internally run and enables companies to get the maximum benefit from the different forms of aid that exist.
     
  • Helping entrepreneurs to find land, offices, premises, buildings, or apartments as quickly as possible and with the best market conditions, with the help of the necessary structures.
     
  • Steering businesses in their administrative procedures for issues linked to residence and work permits, in conjunction with the Employment Service (SDE) and the Population Service (SPOP), and obtaining public financial aid from the Office for Economic Affairs (SPEI).
     
  • Providing support for applications for tax exemptions, sureties, and loan interest relief. The purpose of this aid is primarily to create a link between the various public services, both on a municipal as well as on a cantonal and national level.
     
  • Providing support and expertise to entrepreneurs when they are drawing up business plans.
     
  • Putting entrepreneurs in contact with the right economic, academic, and industrial partners.
     
  • Making available its significant international network of references and contacts, on a political, administrative, and banking level. Over the years spent promoting the economy of the canton of Vaud, DEV has built up an unparalleled network throughout the world.
     
  • The information and guidance that DEV provides can also be of a more personal nature, such as finding appropriate housing, choosing schools for children, and discovering the wide range of cultural and sporting activities available in the canton.

Why invest in the canton of Vaud

At the crossroads of the world

The region has a glowing global reputation, in particular thanks to the various international events that are organized there.

Center of innovation

The canton of Vaud is a leading European hub in terms of technology and innovation, most notably in research and development.

Qualified workforce

Thanks to its education and professional training system, the canton of Vaud has an extensive workforce that is qualified and often multilingual.

Our success stories

CISCO

This US giant which specializes in network equipment has been based in Rolle since 2007. The group also has a development unit within the EPFL Innovation Park and is anticipating widespread digital disruption across all sectors of industry.

Ferring Pharmaceuticals

A biopharmaceutical company which develops and markets solutions in the sectors of reproductive and maternal health, urology, gastroenterology, and endocrinology. It was originally founded in Sweden and set up business in the Vaud municipality of Saint-Prex in 2006.

Medtronic

This US medical technology giant has developed partnerships with various figures in the local financial and scientific community. Since setting up business in Tolochenaz in 1996, the group has worked very closely with the EPFL, HEIG-VD, and CHUV academic institutions.

Le DEV: votre interlocuteur privilégié

Le Développement Economique Canton de Vaud (DEV) joue un rôle central pour les entreprises étrangères. Il est actif comme soutien à l'implantation au sens large.

Son rôle consiste à orienter gratuitement l’entrepreneur dans toutes les démarches liées à son implantation sur sol vaudois et dans ses contacts avec l'administration. Le DEV met à disposition des entreprises étrangères son expérience, son savoir-faire, sa connaissance du terrain et son expertise du tissu économique vaudois.

Guide de l'investisseur

Dans le détail le DEV :

  • Accompagne les entreprises étrangères dans leur évaluation du canton de Vaud comme site d’implantation pour leurs activités.
     

  • Oriente l’entrepreneur dans ses choix au moment de définir la meilleure forme d'entreprise lors de la constitution de la société. Entièrement géré à l’interne, ce service permet de tirer le maximum des différentes aides existantes.
     

  • Aide les entrepreneurs à trouver au plus vite des terrains, des bureaux, des locaux, des immeubles ou des appartements aux meilleures conditions du marché, avec l’aide de structures adéquates.
     

  • Guide les entreprises dans leurs démarches au sein de l’administration publique pour les questions liées aux permis de séjour et de travail en collaboration avec le Service de l’emploi (SDE) et le Service de la population (SPOP) ou à l'obtention d'aides financières publiques auprès du Service de la promotion économique et de l'innovation (SPEI).
     

  • Soutient dans les démarches d'exonérations fiscales, de cautionnements et de prise en charge d’intérêts bancaires. Le but de cette aide consiste notamment à réaliser le lien entre les différents services publics, aussi bien au niveau de la commune, que du canton et de la Confédération.
     

  • Apporte son soutien et assure son expertise aux entrepreneurs lors de l’élaboration d’un plan d’affaires.
     

  • Met en relation l’entrepreneur avec les partenaires financiers, académiques et industriels adéquats.
     

  • Met à disposition son important réseau international de références et de contacts, tant sur le plan politique, qu’administratif ou bancaire. Au fil des ans passés à la promotion économique du canton de Vaud, le DEV s'est constitué un réseau sans égal dans le monde entier.
     

  • Les informations et conseils qu'offre le DEV peuvent aussi concerner des domaines plus personnels, tels que le choix d'un logement, d'une école pour les enfants ou la découverte des multiples possibilités culturelles et sportives proposées dans le canton.

Pourquoi investir dans le canton de Vaud

Carrefour mondial

La région rayonne dans le monde entier notamment grâce à des nombreux événements internationaux qui y sont organisés.

Centre d'innovation

Le canton de Vaud est un hub européen de premier ordre en matière de technologies et innovation, notamment dans la recherche et développement.

Main-d’œuvre qualifiée

Grâce à son système éducatif et de formation professionnelle, le canton de Vaud dispose d’une main-d’œuvre abondante, qualifiée et souvent polyglotte.

Nos succès

Cisco

Spécialisé dans le matériel de réseaux, le géant américain est installé à Rolle depuis 2007. Le groupe, qui dispose d’une unité de développement au sein de l’Innovation Park de l’EPFL, anticipe une généralisation de la disruption digitale à tous les secteurs de la société.

Ferring Pharmaceuticals

La société biopharmaceutique développe et commercialise des solutions dans les domaines de la santé reproductive et maternelle, l’urologie, la gastro-entérologie et l’endocrinologie. L’entreprise d’origine suédoise est installée sur la commune vaudoise de Saint-Prex depuis 2006.

Medtronic

Le géant des technologies médicales a développé des collaborations avec les acteurs du tissu économique et scientifique local. Depuis son implantation en 1996 dans le village de Tolochenaz, le groupe travaille étroitement avec les institutions académiques: EPFL, HEIG-VD et CHUV.